2020年04月30日

生物安全:促进家禽养殖业长期可持续发展

在这个特殊时期,全球食品合作伙伴(Global Food Partners)祝愿您以及家人和同事健康安全!

尽管暂时处于远程工作的状态,全球食品合作伙伴仍旧在为自己的事业而努力,我们依旧坚持帮助食品行业实施和维持较高的动物福利水平,以及负责任的采购政策与措施。

我们的工作焦点之一是帮助养殖户增加强养殖场生物安全和卫生防疫措施,以降低疾病暴发的风险。养殖场一旦暴发疾病,就可能导致毁灭性的经济损失,甚至造成公共卫生危机。当前全球新冠肺炎疫情(COVID-19)向我们展示了人类与动物的互动会产生如何深远的影响。我们希望如下这些信息于您有所帮助,并欢迎您进行转发分享。

据息新冠肺炎病毒最初可能是由鲜活市场上的活体动物传播给人类的。这不是第一次因为动物感染疾病而导致的人类健康危机。例如:禽流感直接来源于禽类感染,已导致数百人死亡,其中70%的死亡报告发生在亚洲;2009年的“猪流感”被认为是源于墨西哥的集约型养猪场,仅在一年内就导致了全球18,000多人死亡。动物疾病的暴发也给养殖户造成了巨大的经济损失,并导致了世界上数十个国家数以亿计的鸡和猪的死亡。

这些疫病大流行告诫我们,动物健康和人类健康是相互关联的——生物安全和动物健康是人类健康、食品安全和粮食安全的重要保障。传染性疾病在禽类养殖场中的传播可以非常迅猛,事实也的确如此。因此,要经营一个健康且成功的养殖场,生物安全和健康管理措施是至关重要的。

例如,蛋鸡容易感染多种疾病,但许多是可以预防的。绝大多数(大约80%)的禽病是由被污染的人员、设备和车辆带入养殖场的。受污染的水、鸡雏、垫料以及害虫也是潜在的风险。无论采用何种养殖体系,都应当始终坚守以下几条关键的生物安全措施:

  • 限制养殖场的来访人数
  • 将生物安全警告标志设置在养殖场周围
  • 参观养殖场时需穿防护服和防护鞋
  • 进出鸡舍后对手和鞋子进行消毒
  • 定期对设备进行消毒,并且不得将设备转移给其他养殖场使用
  • 对来往于养殖场之间的卡车进行消毒

 

Profile of a chicken's face

正如我们在新冠肺炎疫情和其他传染病(如禽流感)中所看到的那样,在人类的健康危机中还潜藏着动物福利危机。尽管生物安全措施是降低疾病风险的关键,但我们强烈建议所有养殖场制定应急预案用以应对已经暴发的疫病,其中包括人道处死。

应急预案需要确保在危机来临时所有的动物都可以得到人道处理,并保证以下事项:

  • 切勿将动物活埋,切勿让活体动物挨饿,切勿使其窒息或过热致死。这些处理方式会引起极大的应激与痛苦。
  • 所有养殖场都应当安排必要的人员和设备,以在必要时刻对大量动物实施恰当的安乐死。所需采用的所有方案都应提前计划、做好准备,相关人员都应当接受培训,以确保动物的快速死亡。

尽管上述方法非常重要,但全球食品合作伙伴的高级动物科学家凯特·哈特彻尔博士(Dr. Kate Hartcher)在中国各地蛋禽养殖场开展的最新研究结果发现,养殖农户认为疾病的预防控制和恰当的安乐死是他们在生产领域中面临的两个最棘手的问题。一些生产商认为疾病是养殖业最大挑战。

新冠肺炎疫情是一场全球性的灾难,影响着全球的企业。我们正在利用这段时间与食品企业和养殖场合作,以减缓未来疾病暴发与危机产生的风险,确保如果灾难再次发生时,能够采取恰当的应对措施。 

全球食品合作伙伴期待与您 我们的合作伙伴继续合 作、共同面对这一挑战、携手共进。想了解更多合作 信息,请发送邮件至 team@globalfoodpartners.com 与我们联系。

Global Food Partners, Inc.

版权所有 © 2021

GFP-icon-linkedin
zh_CN简体中文

04.30.2020

Biosecurity: Improving the Long-Term Sustainability of the Poultry Industries

On behalf of all of us at Global Food Partners, we hope you, your families, and your colleagues are well and safe in these challenging times.

Global Food Partners remains focused on our work (albeit remotely for the time being), helping food businesses implement and maintain high animal welfare and responsible sourcing policies and practices.

One of our focus areas is helping farmers enhance their biosecurity and animal health measures, in order to reduce the risk of disease outbreak on their farms, which can result in devastating financial losses and even public health crises.  The global COVID-19 pandemic is a reminder of how our interactions with animals can have far-reaching consequences. We hope this information is of use to you, and encourage you to share it with your networks.

The COVID-19 virus is believed to have been first transmitted to humans by a live animal at a “wet” market. This is not the first time we have seen a human health crisis as a result of a disease contracted from animals. Avian influenza (bird flu), for example was contracted directly from poultry and has resulted in hundreds of human deaths with 70% of these deaths reported in Asia. The 2009 “swine flu” outbreak, which is thought to have originated from intensive pig farms in Mexico, resulted in over 18,000 deaths around the globe in just one year. These outbreaks also caused enormous economic losses for farmers, and the loss of hundreds of millions of chickens and pigs in dozens of countries around the world.

One lesson learned through these pandemics is that animal health and human health are linked- improve biosecurity and animal health and you improve human health and food safety and security. Since infectious diseases can and do spread quickly on poultry farms, biosecurity and health management practices are paramount to operating a successful and healthy farm.

Layer hens, for example, are susceptible to a number of diseases, many of which are preventable. The vast majority (approximately 80%) of poultry diseases are carried onto the farm by contaminated people, equipment and vehicles. Contaminated water, chicks, litter and pest animals can also be risks.  The below are some key biosecurity practices that should be followed at all times, regardless of the type of housing system:

  • Limiting the number of people who access the farm
  • Fencing the farm with biosecurity signage
  • Wearing protective clothing and footwear when visiting a farm
  • Sanitising hands and footwear before entering and after exiting a shed
  • Disinfecting equipment regularly and keeping equipment on one farm only
  • Disinfecting trucks between farms

 

Profile of a chicken's face

As we’ve seen with COVID-19 and other infectious diseases like Avian Influenza, amidst human health crises, animal welfare crises can also arise. While biosecurity measures are key to mitigating disease risk, we strongly encourage all farms to have protocols for the event of an infectious disease outbreak, including appropriate methods of euthanasia.

Contingency plans need to guarantee that all animals are treated humanely in the event of a crisis, and should ensure the following:

  • Live animals should never be buried, left to starve or allowed to suffocate or overheat to death. This kind of treatment causes significant distress and suffering.
  • All farms should have access to the necessary staff and equipment required to carry out appropriate methods of euthanasia for large numbers of animals. All methods require planning, preparation and staff training to ensure a quick death.

Despite the importance of the above practices, recent research conducted on egg farms across China by Global Food Partners’ Senior Animal Scientist, Dr. Kate Hartcher, found that farmers identified the prevention and management of diseases and performing appropriate methods of euthanasia as two of the most difficult areas of production. Some producers identified disease as the single greatest challenge of farming.

COVID-19 is now a devastating reality around the globe and impacting all businesses. We’re taking this time to work together with food businesses and farmers to mitigate the risk of future outbreaks and crises, and to make sure appropriate procedures are in place in the event they do occur. 

We are all in this challenge together and we at Global Food Partners look forward to continuing to work with you, our partners, to ensure we’re well-equipped moving forward.  Want to learn more about how we can work together? Send us a message here – we’d be happy to chat!

Global Food Partners, Inc.

Copyright © 2020

GFP-icon-linkedin
en English
X